Questions. Ideas. Adventures

Aside

All Things Bright and Beautiful

Yesturday, I was sat out in the garden, reading this:

“David sang a song to the Lord after the Lord had rescued him from his enemies, especially Saul. These are the words to David’s song:

Our Lord and our God, you are my mighty rock, my fortress, my protector.You are the rock where I am safe.You are my shield, my powerful weapon, and my place of shelter. You rescue me and keep me from being hurt. I praise you, our Lord!

I prayed to you, and you rescued me from my enemies. Death, like ocean waves, surrounded me, and I was almost swallowed by its flooding waters.

Ropes from the world of the dead had coiled around me,
and death had set a trap in my path.I was in terrible trouble when I called out to you, but from your temple
you heard me and answered my prayer.

Earth shook and shivered! The columns supporting the sky rocked back and forth. You were angry and breathed out smoke. Scorching heat and fiery flames spewed from your mouth.

You opened the heavens like curtains, and you came down
with storm clouds under your feet. You rode on the backs of flying creatures.You appearedwith the wind as wings. Darkness was your tent! Thunderclouds filled the sky, hiding you from sight. Fiery coals lit up the sky in front of you.

Lord Most High, your voice thundered from the heavens. You scattered your enemies with arrows of lightning. You roared at the sea, and its deepest channels could be seen. You snorted, and the earth shook to its foundations.”

2 Samuel 22:1-16

After laughing at the thought of God snorting, it struck how many human attributes, and those of animals, that David gives to God. Then I realised that God was here first, and that we’re made in HIS image, not the other way around. Little bits of God can be seen in His creation, and so often it gets overlooked.

Also, just I was thinking this, from over the fence, I heard the old hymn ‘All Things Bright And Beautiful’, coming from our neighbours house. Our neighbours who aren’t christains.

For those who don’t know the lyrics, here they are:

Chorus: All things bright and beautiful,
All creatures great and small,
All things wise and wonderful,
The Lord God made them all.

Each little flower that opens,
Each little bird that sings,
He made their glowing colours,
He made their tiny wings.

Chorus

The purple-headed mountain,
The river running by,
The sunset and the morning,
That brightens up the sky;

Chorus

The cold wind in the winter,
The pleasant summer sun,
The ripe fruits in the garden,
He made them every one;

Chorus

The tall trees in the greenwood,
The meadows for our play,
The rushes by the water,
To gather every day;

Chorus


He gave us eyes to see them,
And lips that we might tell
How great is God Almighty,
Who has made all things well.

Chorus

Interesting… 

One response

  1. good to have you blogging again my friend. 🙂

    July 26, 2012 at 11:29 pm

Leave a comment